Starting from scratch

At college we have been asked to create a public information video that incorporates stop frame animation.

I have started to experiment and research into different styles of animation. I have been looking through lots of videos on Youtube, Vimeo and through stumbleupon. The more i experiment myself the more i realise that animation is time consuming to say the least.

I have been looking into rotoscoping as i was very impressed by a filmed called ‘A scanner darkly’‘ based on a novel by Philip K Dick. Although i would love to be able to produce animation as impressive as that i have decided to start from the basics. I spent six hours yesterday on a two second clip of a friend dancing. I filmed a clip then printed out 93 frames which was only 4 seconds of the dance. Even then i realised that i might have bitten off more than i could chew. It took me about 5 hours to draw the 30 frames i had chosen. i used a lightbox to trace the images, then shot them on a rostrum using ‘DragonFrame’. I then imported the clip into final cut looped it 7 or so times then added a little sound to bring it to life. Here it is.

Let me know what you think?

